Mindful Chef

When you get home after a long day at work, it’s sometimes really difficult to know what to cook that evening – and it’s even more difficult making sure that you have all of the ingredients in your kitchen ready to go. And this is where the wonder that is ‘Mindful Chef’ steps in…

DSCF9870

Mindful Chef delivers boxes of fresh ingredients to your door, along with recipe cards, so that you’re ready to cook as soon as you arrive home. And, what’s more, Mindful Chef specifically focus on healthy, gluten- and refined sugar-free recipes that are simple and quick to cook. I was sold at gluten-free.

Last week I tried out two different recipes and I was not disappointed. When I arrived home after work, the box of ingredients was there waiting on my front doorstep (you can request a ‘safe place’ for your box to be left) and all of the vegetables, meat and fish were still fresh when I opened it up, thanks to the special icepacks and packaging that keep the ingredients cool.

DSCF9812

First up was Keralan coconut monkfish curry with coriander and wild rice. This, if I do say so myself, tasted amazing. I will hands down be making this dish again! The recipe was extremely easy to follow and I loved the variety of herb and ingredients which gave it a real kick – particularly the garlic, chilli and turmeric. I also appreciated that the recipe used wild rice instead of white rice; it’s a much better non-refined alternative.

DSCF9884

DSCF9885

The second dish that I cooked up was pomegranate chicken with chicory, asparagus, orange & walnuts; a dish which, admittedly, I probably never would have thought of cooking in my kitchen. I was a little hesitant of cooking chicory as I hadn’t done so before, but it was so easy to cook in the oven alongside the asparagus (my favourite veggie!). I also loved the addition of the orange in the recipe, once again an ingredient that I typically wouldn’t have used in a main course. However, it worked extremely well. The dish as a whole tasted really fresh and surprisingly light, and the pomegranate molasses was wonderful. I was also very impressed by the quality of the chicken.

DSCF9829

I think the one thing that I really like about Mindful Chef is that the ingredients you’re sent are the exact weight/quantity required for the recipes, so you’re not left with any waste. Moreover, the recipes themselves are really easy to follow and time efficient.

DSCF9876

So, ladies and gentlemen, if you’re looking for a little help with your post-work dinners (or some inspiration!), then definitely check out Mindful Chef. It’s also so helpful and reassuring knowing that all of the recipes are gluten-free so you’re not left with a box of ingredients that you can’t use. Smart, healthy and inspiring: my three key words to sum up Mindful Chef.

Do let me know if you’d like either of the recipes!

https://www.mindfulchef.com/

 

Leave a Reply

