Portobello Juice Cafe

Okay, so the Portobello Juice Cafe is an absolute gem. You may not have heard of it before, and neither had I until recently, but boy oh boy you need to pay it a visit.

Located up at the top end of Portobello Road is this fabulously multi-coloured cafe, offering everything from fresh juices, mixed salads, toasted sandwiches, omelettes and protein shakes.

IMG_2240

Earlier today I paid a visit and was very pleasantly surprised by a cafe that I admittedly wasn’t particularly aware of previously. As I had just been for a run, I decided to refuel myself with a Portobello Fit Shake – made from milk, soya protein, banana, blueberry, peanut butter, coconut milk and oats – and it was heavenly. All of the drinks are made in store to order – no pre-packaged or pasteurised juices here!

IMG_2247

I then ordered a big plate of poached eggs and avocado on gluten-free toast. Okay, now anyone that knows me or has read my previous blog posts, knows that I am a big avo on toast fan. However, I can safely say that the meal I had at Portobello Juice Cafe was one of the best takes on the dish that I’ve ever had. The avocado was lemony and nicely seasoned, and the eggs were perfectly poached. The photo below really doesn’t do it justice.

IMG_2242

Once I got home (as I was so full at the cafe!) I tried out one of their raw, gluten-free and dairy-free ‘cookies’, which was equally delicious.

IMG_2238

I learnt afterwards that all of the fruits and vegetables used in store are sourced daily from the local Portobello Market, hence the freshness of the food and drink!

The cafe itself is really cool – if you walk down Portobello Road, you’ll notice it straight away with its bright, colourful walls, multi-coloured chairs outside and green grass-like turf. Portobello Juice cafe is supportive of the vibrant local arts scene and displays work by local artists on its walls inside, giving them a fantastic opportunity to display their work.

IMG_2239

All in all, I can’t recommend the Juice Cafe enough. If you’re looking somewhere a little different and away from the masses, where there’s a wonderful choice of fresh food and drink, then this is the place for you. I’ll 100% be making a return visit – and I suggest you do the same!

IMG_2244

http://www.portobellojuice.com/

Leave a Reply

