Wringer & Mangle

Have you been to Wringer & Mangle? If the answer to that is no, then that seriously needs to change.

DSCF0687DSCF0688

Based in London Fields, Wringer & Mangle is a restaurant and bar offering breakfast, lunch, dinner, afternoon tea and – my favourite – brunch! I paid a visit for the first time with a uni friend last week after work and literally had the best time.

DSCF0689.JPG

We started off choosing some cocktails from the very extensive cocktail menu – it was extremely difficult to choose but I ended up going for a Bramble and another vodka-based cocktail with blueberries. They definitely hit the spot.

DSCF0696DSCF0712

However, for me, the big seller at Wringer & Mangle is their absolutely delicious evening menu. Feeling peckish, my friend and I decided to go for all three courses – and trust me, there was no regret.

My friend began with the brown crab on toast with scallions and parsley salad; and I went for the smoked mackerel with new potatoes, bacon and watercress. The mackerel was beautiful – so fresh and light – and the crispy bacon contrasted with it really well. A truly delicious dish. The brown crab also went down an absolute treat.

DSCF0698

Then, for our mains, we went for the slow roasted shoulder of lamb with anchovy & garlic, crushed aubergine, roasted courgette and mint & caper sauce; and the chargrilled baby chicken with carrot, kohlrabi and parsley. Seriously, neither of us could fault our meals. My chicken was cooked perfectly and I particularly lighter liked the choice of veg on the side. And the lamb was apparently so tender, melting in the mouth. We also added some thick-cut chips to the table, and they were incredible. The perfect pot of chips!

DSCF0702DSCF0707DSCF0709DSCF0710

Finally, after absolutely devouring our first two courses, we decided to share a dessert: a pot of mixed, fresh berries with mint salad (we opted out of the sweet cracked wheat due to my intolerance). But after so much food, this was the perfect way to round off a truly incredible meal.

DSCF0716

With regards to the service and the restaurant itself, once again nothing could be faulted. Our server, Forrest, was fantastic – very attentive and extremely knowledgeable about the menu. Big shout out to him.

Also, I had never actually been to Wringer & Mangle before and was wholly impressed with the layout of the restaurant. As well as indoors, they offer a vast amount of outdoor seating so, when the sun decides to shine(!), you can enjoy your meal alfresco. This is what we did and it was really lovely – when it got a little cooler later on, electric heaters are whacked on (hence the red tinge to the photo of our pud). There was such a wonderful atmosphere at the restaurant – and this alone will make me return.

DSCF0726DSCF0728

As you can tell from this post, I’ve totally fallen head over heels for Wringer & Mangle. So much so that I’ve got some very exciting news to share with you VERY soon on my Instagram account – so make sure to keep your eyes peeled. You’re in for a Wringer & Mangle real treat! If you don’t follow me already, you can find me at @SimplyChar3.

http://wringerandmangle.com/

 

Leave a Reply

